PWPSD announces 2024 Teacher Bursary recipients

PWPSD Teacher Bursary

Peace Wapiti Public School Division (PWPSD) is proud to announce its 2024 Teacher Bursary recipients. New this year, the PWPSD Teacher Bursary program was created to assist individuals living within the division’s boundaries to attain their Bachelor of Education degree.

The PWPSD Teacher Bursary program provides $3000 per year to cover the costs directly associated with the teacher education program for which the student has been accepted. In addition to the monetary benefit, students are provided a position within PWPSD upon their graduation.

Deputy Superintendent Darren Young says the initial plan was to award five bursaries, but after reviewing the applications and hosting excellent interviews, the bursary committee agreed to award eight bursaries for the program’s inaugural year. “We were so happy with the number of applications and their quality and are so proud of our eight recipients.” Mr. Young says it was difficult to narrow it down to eight and encourages those who applied this year to apply again in future years.

This year’s recipients include current and past students, and current staff working in other capacities. They are located throughout the division and, based on their anticipated graduation dates, will be able to take on teaching positions over the next five years.

The PWPSD Board of Trustees and Executive staff would like to congratulate the 2024 PWPSD Teacher Bursary recipients:

  • Kellie Flett
  • Deneika Frankie
  • Jodie Trapp
  • Rory Desmet
  • Sierra Evans
  • Bryce Bogdanek
  • Natasha Langlois
  • Jenny Keddie

 For more information about the PWPSD Teacher Bursary program please visit our website.